top of page

lightning

the more places I go with you

the more disturbing I find it that

I don't even pay attention to where we are anymore

and I often find myself staring at you for hours,

letting the world pass me by because

everything I have ever looked for, I found in you

your eyes are like oceans or galaxies of brilliant blues in kaleidoscope patterns

I could get lost in them forever just like I could get so easily lost between

the peaks and plains of your shoulders and spine

I am getting to know you so well I could

make a map of where the curves of your body rise and fall

and if I wanted to explore up a tree trunk through thinning branches

I could just as easily

run my hands over your forearms to the tips of your thin fingers

and the experience would still be just as fruitful and

just like a the intricate patterns of veins on a leaf

i could trace the design on your palms over and over and

never grow bored and never be able to recreate such a perfect arrangement of lines

I don't need lightning when I know the stories behind

the bolts of your all your scars

I don't need thunder as long as I can still hear

the boom of your voice and your laugh that makes your chest rattle

I don't need to see the overcast sky when your face

is swirled perfectly with freckles and birthmarks and discoloration

there are whole universes on your surface that I need to know


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page