top of page

champagne nights

champagne streaks run rampant across the sky and i,

i am dizzy, drunk on

sunsets sinking into streetlights

pale arms twist and tangle,

blurred together in the fluorescent twilight. this,

this is milky euphoria, ecstasy

is stuck in my eyes like sleep but

slowly, champagne nights turned into

headache blurred days, i,

i tried my hardest to find

answers at the bottoms of bottles and

in the jars you used to keep on your shelf but

all you left were wads of

patchwork paper, poems creased by

time and a lack of space.

no space.

those were the words you left me with but

my apartment never felt this small with you in it.

no space.

between my fingernails and the damp pages of your journal

there is no space.

your words jumped off the paper

i tried to make sense of them before they floated

out my window but i only grabbed the words

and not their meanings.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page